It is currently Sun Jul 15, 2018 10:08 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 63 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Current Doubler Adapter cable (p/n PPAP)
PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2018 10:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 7011
Location: The Lab
TheWoodenTable wrote:
I am trying to power a pedal that requires 12v / 250 mA using the PP2+ and have two questions...

1. If I use a current doubler on 5+6 with switches set away from normal, will the unregulated supply lead to sending a higher voltage than 12v to the 250mA pedal, and should I be concerned about this?

2. Can I use a current doubler on 4+5 with switches set away from normal to get 12v/260mA or will this be dangerous due to the difference in regulation between those outputs?


What is this mystery pedal?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Current Doubler Adapter cable (p/n PPAP)
PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2018 9:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 1:24 pm
Posts: 2
It's a GFI System Wavelogic MkII- discontinued and not very well known.

From the manual:

"WL-MKII is powered using an external +12VDC power source capable of delivering 250 mA of current. If a 12VDC power source is not available, you can use a regulated 9VDC power source, with a slight reduction in headroom."

I'm hoping to get it the 12v, but it's way more convenient for me powering my board if I don't have to use 5+6.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Current Doubler Adapter cable (p/n PPAP)
PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2018 11:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 7011
Location: The Lab
TheWoodenTable wrote:
It's a GFI System Wavelogic MkII- discontinued and not very well known.

From the manual:

"WL-MKII is powered using an external +12VDC power source capable of delivering 250 mA of current. If a 12VDC power source is not available, you can use a regulated 9VDC power source, with a slight reduction in headroom."

I'm hoping to get it the 12v, but it's way more convenient for me powering my board if I don't have to use 5+6.


I'd bet that you would be perfectly fine to power this from Output 5 or 6 with the corresponding DIP Switch set away from Normal using a single cable rather than having to combine any outputs.

I hope that helps!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 63 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: