Blown Pedals

General discussion and tech talk about the industry standard Pedal Power line of power supplies.
Stompbox Steve

Blown Pedals

Post by Stompbox Steve » Thu Mar 27, 2014 10:38 am

Hello
I am new to this forum and wanted to get some insight into a problem I was just tackled with. I have been using the Power Pedal 2 Plus (along with another supply) to run my main pedal board for years... no issues, great product. I have stripped things down for a "overnight" rig...

I plugged in a number of pedals into the unit and it seems The Power Pedal 2 blew something in a couple of the pedals. The line up was:

Dunlop 535> Analogman compressor > Boss TWah > EHX Bass Balls(Nano) > Boss HM2 > Homemade Fuzz > Boss Pitch/Delay

I powered it up and now the TWah, Bass Balls and Boss Heavy Metal don't work with any DC power supply. I tried them individually with a 1spot & Boss adapter and nothing. They work with the battery.

I have some experience modifying pedals but wanted to see if anyone had any input. I appreciate your feedback.

* all the DIP switches on the bottom were on normal
Thanks, Steve

JohnClark

Re: Blown Pedals

Post by JohnClark » Fri Mar 28, 2014 12:52 pm

In all the years I've been here, I have yet to see a pedal that was actually killed by a Pedal Power output when using the proper cable. Even with the DIP switch set incorrectly, it is virtually impossible to kill a Boss pedal with a Pedal Power. For instance, I used to run a Metal Zone at 12V just for kicks ;)

I know it probably seems redundant, but can you test any one of the pedals per the following method:
1. Put a battery in any one of the suspect pedals.
2. Connect your guitar to the pedal and the pedal to the amp.
3. Activate the pedal and play through it just to hear that all is working.
4. Without changing anything else, connect the DC power source of your choice to the power jack of the pedal.
...does the pedal stop working?