Sorry if this has already been addressed.

General discussion and tech talk about the industry standard Pedal Power line of power supplies.
Post Reply
The Blue Letter
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 7:26 pm
Location: Richmond, Va.
Contact:

Sorry if this has already been addressed.

Post by The Blue Letter » Mon May 11, 2015 6:58 am

So I am currently in the process of rebuilding my rig (as I have posted in some other categories) and I recently just got a HEX to add to my pedal board. I want to be able to power my GCP via phantom power from the HEX and was just wondering what Pedal Power unit is capable of doing this. I currently have a PP2+ on there, but aren't all the outputs only capable of 100mA?

I saw that in the HEX manual it says that you would need a power supply with an output capable of supplying the 100mA to the HEX plus the amount that the GCP would need (but I didn't see how much the GCP current draw is) So if anyone can tell me that would be great.

The other pedals that I need to be able to power are:

Boss - SYB5 Bass Synth
Death By Audio - Robot
Line 6 - FM4
Boss - RC20XL
Boss - DD3
EHX - Freeze
TC Electronics - Polytune mini
and
a DIY made expression pedal selector (just need enough power to power two LED's)

So with that a PP2+ doesn't have enough outputs, and I am thinking I will either need to get an additional power supply or a different one.

So any suggestions on which would be the best solution would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks again!
loud, louder, loudest

JohnClark
Posts: 7350
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Sorry if this has already been addressed.

Post by JohnClark » Wed May 13, 2015 11:56 am

You would want 500mA minimum when powering HEX and a Ground Control Pro. This would mean using a Current Doubler Adapter to combine two outputs. On a Pedal Power 2+ you would need outputs 5 and 6. On an ISO-5, 4x4, or Mondo you could combine one High Current output and one regular output, or two High Current outputs on a Digital, 4x4, or Mondo.

Adding a Digital to your existing Pedal Power 2+ setup would add four High Current outputs to your board.

I hope that helps!
------------------====Cheers!====------------------
Image
---------==Voodoo Lab Magician & Tech==---------

Post Reply