noise and hum with power supply

General discussion and tech talk about the industry standard Pedal Power line of power supplies.
Post Reply
Manhell
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 3:33 pm

noise and hum with power supply

Post by Manhell » Mon Oct 03, 2016 9:49 am

Hi there,

I got a TRex chameleon and yesterday I realized that this unit hums when on and when it is close to the cables that go into my Strymon Timeline and into the Fx loop it gets the hum to the cables.

Is this the unit or the cables, what to do? I am now selling it to get a Voodoo Lad PP digital

JohnClark
Posts: 7494
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: noise and hum with power supply

Post by JohnClark » Mon Oct 03, 2016 9:53 am

I think you answered your own question ;)

Enjoy your new Pedal Power Digital!
------------------====Cheers!====------------------
Image
---------==Voodoo Lab Magician & Tech==---------

Manhell
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 3:33 pm

Re: noise and hum with power supply

Post by Manhell » Mon Oct 03, 2016 11:35 am

oh well I guess I did :mrgreen:

but....will the PP do this? transfer noise to the cables?

JohnClark
Posts: 7494
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: noise and hum with power supply

Post by JohnClark » Mon Oct 03, 2016 12:10 pm

This setup didn't buzz...
example1.jpg
Sure it's a 4x4 in that pic, but the Digital is just the four high current sections of a 4x4.
------------------====Cheers!====------------------
Image
---------==Voodoo Lab Magician & Tech==---------

Manhell
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 3:33 pm

Re: noise and hum with power supply

Post by Manhell » Tue Oct 04, 2016 7:05 am

Thanks for that John, I apreciated you taking the time to show a test.

The Trex is gone, sold it yesterday, new digital on the way,



P.S. I can power boss pedals in daisy chain as long as it doesn't exceed the 400mA of the output right?

JohnClark
Posts: 7494
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: noise and hum with power supply

Post by JohnClark » Tue Oct 04, 2016 9:13 am

Manhell wrote:P.S. I can power boss pedals in daisy chain as long as it doesn't exceed the 400mA of the output right?
Absolutely!
------------------====Cheers!====------------------
Image
---------==Voodoo Lab Magician & Tech==---------

Post Reply