It is currently Fri Mar 24, 2017 3:15 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Building new rack - need the right pedal power unit
PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2017 11:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 8:10 pm
Posts: 12
John,

I will have the following pedals on rack drawers:

(1) Strymon Timeline
(1) Boss DD-500 delay
(1) Digitech Timebender Delay
(1) TC Electronic Alter Ego X4 delay
(1) BB Plus dual overdrive
(1) Molten Voltage Tempode midi clock generator
(1) Line 6 M13 modeler
(1) Empress Reverb

On note is that I have a Pedal Power 2 Plus already. What I would like is to know which effects to use the Pedal Power 2 plus for, and what additional pedal power unit(s) I should get, and if you would be so kind - an explanation of the use of the jacks for each pedal to get the proper power.

Thanks,

Rod

_________________
GCX Switcher, Pedal Power 2, Digital Power


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Building new rack - need the right pedal power unit
PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2017 11:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 6282
Location: The Lab
You have mostly High Current draw pedals. A Pedal Power Digital would likely be the best choice as an additional supply... or maybe trade to just two Digitals?

The TimeLine, Alter Ego X4 and the Empress Reverb can each be powered from any 9V Output on a Pedal Power Digital.

The DD-500 and Tempode can each be powered from any 9V Output on a Pedal Power Digital, or from output 5 or 6 on a Pedal Power 2+ with the corresponding DIP Switch set to Normal.

The BB Plus can be powered from any 9V Output on a Pedal Power Digital, or from any output on a Pedal Power 2+ with the corresponding DIP Switch set to Normal.

The Timebender and the M13 will both use their supplied power adapters.

I hope that helps!

_________________
Image
Voodoo Lab ®
Magician/Tech


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Building new rack - need the right pedal power unit
PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2017 5:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 8:10 pm
Posts: 12
Thank you so much!

I have an update, and an additional pedal I want to power from my voodoo units if possible.

I purchased (1) digital power unit. So now, I have (1) digital and (1) power power 2

I also have added an Electro-Harmonix HOG2 pedal that I failed to mention the first time around, and a Midiman multi mixer 6. This is a very old device. I have the wall wart, which reads "9VAC 300mA" -- I would like to know which voodoo port to use for this device as well.

Having said that, do I have enough power ports between my 2 voodoo units, to power all of those pedals? I'm trying to avoid having to purchase a 2nd Digital power supply right now, if I can make this work with the plus 2.

I am trying to use 2 rack shelves for everything, except the Digitech Timebender and Line6 M13, each of which you said I should power with the factory supplied transformer cables -- which sort of worked out because those two units will be in a separate rack, and it would've been impractical to try to use my voodoo units to power them anyways -- even if they could supply the right power for those 2 devices.

Thanks

_________________
GCX Switcher, Pedal Power 2, Digital Power


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Building new rack - need the right pedal power unit
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2017 11:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 6282
Location: The Lab
The HOG2 can be powered from output 5 or 6 on the Pedal Power 2+ with the corresponding DIP switch set to Normal or from any 9V output on the Pedal Power Digital.

The Midiman Multi Mixer 6 requires AC power and will have to be powered using its included power adapter.

By my count you will have four pedals powered from the Pedal Power Digital, and three pedals powered from the Pedal Power 2+. Between these two power supplies you are covered with some room to add some lower current pedals later on the Pedal Power 2+.

Good Luck!

_________________
Image
Voodoo Lab ®
Magician/Tech


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Building new rack - need the right pedal power unit
PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 11:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 8:10 pm
Posts: 12
Help me Obi-"Juan" Kenobi you're my only hope

Greetings John,

I am assembling my rack. I have enough wires to power everything but one pedal that I listed. It's okay because I haven't ordered it yet. It is the Reverb pedal.

Anyhoo, I wanted to confirm one thing before proceeding, and that is that I am to use black to black cables, and none of the black to red cables that came with my pedal power plus 2 or Digital Power boxes. If you confirm that no red cables are to be used, I will have to order a pack of black cables, even though I only need 1 more.

Please reply.

Thank you!!

_________________
GCX Switcher, Pedal Power 2, Digital Power


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Building new rack - need the right pedal power unit
PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 12:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 6282
Location: The Lab
No Red Ended cables are used in your setup so far. I'm surprised you ran out of the standard type cables... both these Pedal Power units should have included enough of these to fill em up using only the standard cables.

You can get single cables, no need to get a pack that includes things you don't need.

We have our Cable Store where you can buy direct from us, or any Voodoo Lab dealer should be able to get any of these cables for you.

Let us know how it goes!

_________________
Image
Voodoo Lab ®
Magician/Tech


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Building new rack - need the right pedal power unit
PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 12:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 8:10 pm
Posts: 12
Nah - to be clear, only the Digital Power is new, based on your advice.

I've had the Pedal Power 2 for 5 years. Plenty of time to lose a few cables. LOL.

Thanks again for all of your help!

_________________
GCX Switcher, Pedal Power 2, Digital Power


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


cron