Volume pedal setup

Exchange tips and tricks to help you design the ultimate pedalboard.
Post Reply
satchaholic
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 1:44 pm

Volume pedal setup

Post by satchaholic » Wed Mar 10, 2010 6:25 pm

Having some trouble getting my Boss FV-500L volume pedal working with the gcp. I did what manual said and tried all options (left, right, pan and stereo) and nothing worked for me.

I can see the light blinking on the gcx when I move the pedal, but volume does not change.

Known good cable used to connect pedal to the GCP.

not sure what I'm missing here... If possible, I'd like the volume pedal to control the global volume, not just patch by patch.

Thanks!

JohnClark
Posts: 7459
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Volume pedal setup

Post by JohnClark » Thu Mar 11, 2010 12:34 pm

You didn't mention what MIDI device are you trying to control the volume for. If you have no such MIDI device in your setup then you will need to patch the volume pedal in the audio path.
------------------====Cheers!====------------------
Image
---------==Voodoo Lab Magician & Tech==---------

satchaholic
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 1:44 pm

Re: Volume pedal setup

Post by satchaholic » Thu Mar 11, 2010 3:27 pm

Confused... Shouldn't I be able to control the overall volume with a volume pedal without ANY midi devices?

I don't have any midi devices besides the Audio Switcher / GCP combo and I have the volume pedal plugged into the GCP as indicated in the manual. Tried setting the VCA thing for a patch, but nothing works.

JohnClark
Posts: 7459
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Volume pedal setup

Post by JohnClark » Thu Mar 11, 2010 5:59 pm

The Expression Pedal ports are used to translate pedal movement into MIDI messages used to control effect parameters in real time on MIDI devices like effect processors and some MIDI preamps. The VCA settings found in the Ground Control Pro are specifically for use with our long discontinued System Mix Plus. You have no MIDI devices that respond to these continuous controller messages so you will have to route your volume pedal directly into the audio path.
------------------====Cheers!====------------------
Image
---------==Voodoo Lab Magician & Tech==---------

satchaholic
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 1:44 pm

Re: Volume pedal setup

Post by satchaholic » Thu Mar 11, 2010 6:06 pm

ah ok, so dumb question..
guitar > volume pedal > then out to audio switcher?

JohnClark
Posts: 7459
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Volume pedal setup

Post by JohnClark » Fri Mar 12, 2010 12:03 pm

That is one place to put it... in front like that it will act more like your guitar volume knob. If you want the volume pedal to be an overall volume that does not affect the gain then it should go after any preamp section or in a series effects loop.
------------------====Cheers!====------------------
Image
---------==Voodoo Lab Magician & Tech==---------

Post Reply