2 Amps, 2 Pedal Power Plus Boxes, 4 Switchers, One Commander

Exchange tips and tricks to help you design the ultimate pedalboard.
Post Reply
torj93
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 5:26 am

2 Amps, 2 Pedal Power Plus Boxes, 4 Switchers, One Commander

Post by torj93 » Tue Apr 06, 2010 5:53 am

Hey there. I want to run my signal through 16 pedals using 4 Switcher boxes.

The 4 switcher boxes are routed into one Voodoo Lab Commander.

The pedals signal is going out to a JMP and an Orange Rocker 30. Both amps will be running all the time, so I don't need any kind of an A/B box, right? I'm not switching between amps, I just need to switch between combinations of pedals.

However, I want some of my effect pedals to hit the Marshall, some of them to hit the Orange, and some of them will effect both amps.

I got all the stuff, now I have to figure out how to make it work.

How the heck do I rig that up?

Do I need to run a Y splitter somewhere on the board, or can the Switcher boxes handle splitting the signal to the two amps?

Any advice=hugely appreciated.

Kev5150
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 12:57 pm

Re: 2 Amps, 2 Pedal Power Plus Boxes, 4 Switchers, One Commander

Post by Kev5150 » Wed Apr 07, 2010 9:08 am

Easy Explanation : say you need 7 fx to run to both amps and then have 4 fx independent to each amp...

Pedal switcher 1 in - out to Pedal switcher 2 in - then a splitter to both Pedal switcher 3 (marshall) and Pedal switcher 4 (orange). thats if you want to run both amps all the time...not sure about phase issues though we'll let someone more qualified answer that part.

If you would want to use only the switchers, since all the loops are in series you would have the capability to A/B amps, but not run both at the same time...If I'm wrong I'm sure I'll be corrected.

Good Luck

torj93
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 5:26 am

Re: 2 Amps, 2 Pedal Power Plus Boxes, 4 Switchers, One Commander

Post by torj93 » Fri Apr 09, 2010 12:50 pm

Kev5150 wrote:Easy Explanation : say you need 7 fx to run to both amps and then have 4 fx independent to each amp...

Pedal switcher 1 in - out to Pedal switcher 2 in - then a splitter to both Pedal switcher 3 (marshall) and Pedal switcher 4 (orange). thats if you want to run both amps all the time...not sure about phase issues though we'll let someone more qualified answer that part.

If you would want to use only the switchers, since all the loops are in series you would have the capability to A/B amps, but not run both at the same time...If I'm wrong I'm sure I'll be corrected.

Good Luck
Thanks. I will be running both amps at the same time, but I always bi-amp and have never hit any phasing issues.

But I am running all the switchers in through the VL Commander box, to activate certain groups of pedal combinations. So the Switchers aren't going out to the amps, they're going into the Switcher.

Or do I misunderstand the connection scheme? Does the last Switcher in a series go to BOTH the amp and the Commander?

JohnClark
Posts: 7459
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: 2 Amps, 2 Pedal Power Plus Boxes, 4 Switchers, One Commander

Post by JohnClark » Fri Apr 09, 2010 2:48 pm

The Commander connects to the Pedal Switchers through a series MIDI connection.
The audio Outputs of the two switchers after the Y split is what will run to the inputs of your two amplifiers.
------------------====Cheers!====------------------
Image
---------==Voodoo Lab Magician & Tech==---------

torj93
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 5:26 am

Re: 2 Amps, 2 Pedal Power Plus Boxes, 4 Switchers, One Commander

Post by torj93 » Mon Apr 12, 2010 10:06 am

JohnClark wrote:The Commander connects to the Pedal Switchers through a series MIDI connection.
The audio Outputs of the two switchers after the Y split is what will run to the inputs of your two amplifiers.
Ah-ha. Thanks.

Post Reply