It is currently Sat Aug 19, 2017 5:21 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Switcher vs commander either/or
PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2014 2:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 2:04 pm
Posts: 1
I have a mere 3 (9v) overdrive pedals and a Line 6 XT Live which has amp and speaker modeling but I am concerned more with accessing the digital modulation stomp box effects I. E. chorus, phaser, delay, flange etc.
My goal is simple, to have the ability use a combination of the pedals and mod effects in a single stomp button which as you can see involved bringing in the digital effects via midi and the pedal effects together in one pre-set sound. I know the Commander does this. My question is does it require the Pedal Switcher along with it? Or can it do it alone? Or could the switcher do it alone? Any feedback will be helpful.
Steve :?:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switcher vs commander either/or
PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 4:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 8:53 am
Posts: 1313
The combination of Commander+Pedal Switcher will let you do what you want to do, but you cannot do it using just one or the other.

The Commander is a dedicated controller for one or more Pedal Switchers and there is no way to connect any type of effects units (rack mount or pedal) to it. While it does have MIDI functionality, it was specifically designed to work with only Pedal Switchers, and will not serve as a MIDI controller for third party devices.

The Pedal Switcher will work as a stand alone unit, but it has no functionality for programming and/or saving any presets, so you would have to turn the loops on and off individually. Presets such as you desire would be edited and saved on the Commander.


_________________
I am not affiliated with Voodoo Lab in any way, just sharing what little MIDI and signal routing knowledge I have. If you found my assistance helpful, please pay it forward.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switcher vs commander either/or
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2016 6:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2012 4:51 pm
Posts: 21
In reference to the commander/pedal switcher compatibility, what is the purpose and function of the MIDI in on the commander, if the commander is basically a stand alone controller for the pedal switchers? I typically use the Commander's MIDI out to control the pedal switcher(s)and I've on occasion tried using the MIDI in (of the commander) to have another controller send MIDI messages on through to the pedal switcher, via the commander. That doesn't seem to work. So, what does the MIDI in port on the commander accomplish?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switcher vs commander either/or
PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2016 11:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 6594
Location: The Lab
chirp wrote:
In reference to the commander/pedal switcher compatibility, what is the purpose and function of the MIDI in on the commander, if the commander is basically a stand alone controller for the pedal switchers? I typically use the Commander's MIDI out to control the pedal switcher(s)and I've on occasion tried using the MIDI in (of the commander) to have another controller send MIDI messages on through to the pedal switcher, via the commander. That doesn't seem to work. So, what does the MIDI in port on the commander accomplish?


The MIDI In is for any other MIDI source for Program Change or Control Change messages you may want to connect. Another Commander or another controller can be connected to the MIDI In and the messages will go thru the Commander and Switchers to the target device.
It is also possible to remotely control a Commander from another MIDI Controller. The only thing that won't go thru the system is MIDI Clock data.

What was the controller you were using and what was the device you were looking to control?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switcher vs commander either/or
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2016 6:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2012 4:51 pm
Posts: 21
Hi John;
Understanding that the MIDI in of the Commander is used to transmit MIDI cc and control messages on through to another device beyond the Pedal Switchers is definitely something to explore. But the reason for my questioning what the "in" is used for comes from a long standing desire to integrate my GCP into the operation of the Commander. Without having the ability to toggle from an overdrive pedal (preset with effects from a g major 2) to another and another, instantly, on the GCP led me to try integrating the Commander and pedal switchers downstream from the GCP. For example, I would have two preset banks of effects to go with a certain overdrive pedal. Two more banks of effects with a different O/D pedal. That was ok, but switching from one overdrive to another involved scrolling one or two banks up or down and then selecting a preset, was not nearly what I wanted. So I tried seeing if I could use the Commander in making these instant transfers between my overdrives. I guess it's a backward approach but I've read in the manuals that the Commander could be controlled by the GCP. The only real thing I've seen is the first ten presets from the GCP can activate the Commander for ten simple switches. What I really need is to control the commander from virtually any preset/bank of the GCP. I don't think that can happen and it's too bad, though.
This idea of controlling the gmajor2 downstream of the pedal switchers has definite possibilities. And again, just through the extent that the GCP can control the Commander.
Could there be other possibilities that I don't "see"?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switcher vs commander either/or
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2016 7:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 6594
Location: The Lab
So when you say you couldn't get it to work when sending MIDI to the Commander, what you mean is it totally worked, but it didn't recall the sounds like you wanted? ;)

The Commander does have only the ten presets and it will only respond to Program Change 1-10 from the Ground Control Pro, however you could move the saved sounds around on the G-Major so the Commander buttons do recall the sounds you want from the G-Major.
For instance, you could have Commander Presets 1-5 (which send Program Change 1-5) recall G-Major patches that used "Overdrive A", then have Commander Presets 6-10 (which send Program Change 6-10) recall G-Major patches that used "Overdrive B".

If I am understanding correctly, I think that should do what you are looking for.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: