Fractal Scene Increment and Controller 123/124

Q & A for building and interfacing your rack gear with Ground Control Pro and GCX-based systems.
Post Reply
Dickie Fredericks
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2017 6:02 am

Fractal Scene Increment and Controller 123/124

Post by Dickie Fredericks » Sat Dec 01, 2018 4:26 am

Trying to set up the GCP to increment the scenes. Fractal uses 123 and 124 to increment up and down but the GCP seems to only go to controller 120.

Am I missing something?

JohnClark
Posts: 7144
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Fractal Scene Increment and Controller 123/124

Post by JohnClark » Mon Dec 10, 2018 11:56 am

Here is a thread from the Fractal Forum where a user used the Ground Control Pro VCA function to be able to recall specific AxeFX Scenes for a preset.

https://forum.fractalaudio.com/threads/ ... nes.94071/

It is admittedly a bit cumbersome, but it does work. ;)


When Ground Control was first introduced I think I recall that we left off Control Changes above 120 since per MIDI Spec they were reserved for some rather specific uses that no guitar equipment would use. For instance, Controller 123 is supposed to be reserved for All Notes Off, and 124 is supposed to be reserved for turning OMNI Mode OFF.
Is it possible that these Control Change assignments can be changed in the AxeFX, or are they hard set in the firmware?

The only other suggestion I have if you require the free scrolling up or down through the Scenes would be to use a program or a box to re-define another MIDI Message to send on Control Change 123 or 124 for the AxeFX. Bome's MIDI Translator is a good example of a easy to use software setup, or the MIDI Solutions Event Programmer is an example of a programmable box to go into your rig. I would think for ease, you would simply pick a Control Change (120 or below ;) ) on the Ground Control and have the software or the box redefine it as Controller 123 or 124.

I hope that helps!

Dickie Fredericks
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2017 6:02 am

Re: Fractal Scene Increment and Controller 123/124

Post by Dickie Fredericks » Sat Dec 15, 2018 5:25 am

Thanks for the reply.
I have looked at the Toopy posts and while it may work I have to question if it isnt the same as just having another preset.

Preset 1-4 or scene 1-4. Same thing really. Preset one has no delay and preset 2 has delay. Dont need a scene for that I suppose.

Post Reply