John Clark Help!!!

Q & A for building and interfacing your rack gear with Ground Control Pro and GCX-based systems.
Post Reply
blksolo
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 9:30 pm

John Clark Help!!!

Post by blksolo » Tue Jun 21, 2011 10:35 pm

Hi John, I currently have a GCX,GCP and a control switcher and I'm adding 2 new items to the rack in the next few days.Currently in the rack I have a Gmajor 2,Pog 2,BBE 462 and a Fullbore Metal pedal running into a Mesa Roadster combo.Yeah I know,why the hell do I have a metal pedal if I have a roadster:) I'm adding a Tc electronics D-two delay and a Tc electronic M-one xl,or a Lexicon Mx400.As it is currently setup I have the Pog 2 getting its signal from the guitar out jack in the GCX and my Gmajor 2 is in loop 1 with the GCX send and return going to the Mesa send and return.Should I just run the 2 processors I am going to add into a loop on the GCX as I would a standard pedal,or should I run them into the amp effect loop also,is that possible???Quick rundown on total gear,you tell me how you would do it,and thats how I will rewire it lol. BTW i keep all the pedals in the rack.Thanks:)

GCP
GCX
Control Switcher
Gmajor 2
Pog 2
MXR fullbore metal
BBE 462 Sonic Maximizer
TC Electronic D-two Delay
TC Electronic M-One XL or Lexicon MX400
Furman Pl-plus

JohnClark
Posts: 7356
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: John Clark Help!!!

Post by JohnClark » Wed Jun 22, 2011 10:01 am

I think a good starting point here would be to check out this drawing...

http://www.voodoolab.com/gcxdiagrams/01 ... _AmpSw.pdf

Here GCX Loops 1-4 are being used for pedal effects that are in front of the amp with GCX Loops 5 and 6 being used for effects processors that are routed into the effects loop on the same amp. GCX Loops 7 and 8 are being used for channel/function switching, but you will likely be using your Control Switcher to handle those duties. Because the GCX Loops are not internally connected together, you can use any number of them in front of, or in the effects loop of, your amp.

Basically this means the real question here is, what devices do you want to run in front of your amp, and what devices do you want to run into the effects loop of your amp?
------------------====Cheers!====------------------
Image
---------==Voodoo Lab Magician & Tech==---------

blksolo
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 9:30 pm

Re: John Clark Help!!!

Post by blksolo » Wed Jun 22, 2011 12:07 pm

Wow after looking at that diagram I realized that my current setup is all jacked up lol.I can actually understand the diagrams now !! Thanks again for the help John :D

JohnClark
Posts: 7356
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: John Clark Help!!!

Post by JohnClark » Wed Jun 22, 2011 12:17 pm

Yea, I wasn't sure if you just typed it out wrong or if you really had things going that strangely. :P
------------------====Cheers!====------------------
Image
---------==Voodoo Lab Magician & Tech==---------

Post Reply