Multiple pre-amp, mesa high gain switch, ????

Q & A for building and interfacing your rack gear with Ground Control Pro and GCX-based systems.
Post Reply
Mark_30
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 6:47 am

Multiple pre-amp, mesa high gain switch, ????

Post by Mark_30 » Wed Jul 06, 2011 4:32 pm

HI everyone !

Have questions as I finally gather the gearr i wanna play with .....

GEAR :
triaxis V 2.0
Mesa triple rectifier 3 ch
roland JC120H

Mesa 2:90

Furman power conditionner
KORG tuner
Shure dual wireless
Mesa high gain amp switcher
GCX audio switch
G Major 1
Behringer quad gate xr 4400
MXR Stereo Chorus
MXR 10 band EQ
MXR Phase 100


Now th fun part ... getting everythig together ...

My basic idea is that i want to mix recto and triaxis for crunch / heavy sound and triaxis and JC120 for clean..

Run all that trought the 2:90 ... into the cabs...

The rest im gonna run into the loops of the gcx or maybe a couple of things trought the FX loops of the amp ..

That is the easy part ...

Trick is to blend all the pre amp , and then shoot them trought the 2:90I think the better thing would be to run the signal in the GCX...

Also, if i plug the triaxis with the midi cable into the audio switcher , would it be possible that the gcx controls the chanel on the triaxis so that when im on crunch im on a specific preset on the triaxis and then when i switch to clean put the triaxis on a different preset ... a clean one ...


If someone has an idea ( John :D ) or maybe somenone working for NASA .....

I know i didnt give all the details or i might not be clear sometimes .... it's not that clear to me too ...

But hey feel free to ask any questions to clear it up !!


Thanks !

JohnClark
Posts: 7453
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Multiple pre-amp, mesa high gain switch, ????

Post by JohnClark » Mon Jul 11, 2011 9:26 am

I have not personally used the Mesa High Gain Amp Switcher... have you connected your amps to the High Gain Amp Switcher in this way yet? Will the High Gain Amp Switcher allow you to mix the preamp sections or does it only select one at a time?

Do you have a way to provide a suitable load for each of the un-used poweramp sections on the amp heads so there is no damage to the output transformers?

The Triaxis is MIDI controllable, you will be able to recall any of the numbered patches from the Ground Control Pro presets.
------------------====Cheers!====------------------
Image
---------==Voodoo Lab Magician & Tech==---------

Mark_30
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 6:47 am

Re: Multiple pre-amp, mesa high gain switch, ????

Post by Mark_30 » Mon Jul 11, 2011 2:46 pm

The pre-amps are wired trought the mesa high gain switcher . And it can switch and combine no problem

The High gain amp switch has 4 1/4 plug to select the amp you want.

So i basically put those in the Out of the chanels i wanted to use for them on the GCX.

Im using loop 6 triaxis, 7 recto and 8 roland.

I plugged the ou of chanel 5 in the guitar input of the mesa switcher and the out into the 2;90

It works amazing for clean sounds ...

The only thing is that it gets very noisy when im putting on the recto and triaxis in a crunch mode..

I'll have to find a way for that to work better tought ...

Effect are loop in my first loop that works great also..

skot
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 1:34 am

Re: Multiple pre-amp, mesa high gain switch, ????

Post by skot » Mon Sep 05, 2011 4:26 pm

I have almost this exact same setup:
crybaby rack wah
gmajor
gcx switcher, and ground controll pro
triaxis v2
marshall jmp1
dbx 1074 quad gate
mesa high gain amp switcher
mesa 2:90
jc120h
mesa dual rectifier
whammy pedal
tubescreamer

Im having issues with switching the high gain amp switcher with the GCX, Im using the out switches on channels 5-8 and when you have channel 5 on by itself, it turns on all 4 amps on the mesa switcher, 6 turns 3 channels on, 7 turns 2 channels on, and 8 turns 1 channel on.

When i use the Triaxis switch jacks it works just like its suppose to, 1 channel is turned on per switch. But i dont want to have to make up a hundred different presets in the triaxis that have the same settings but different amp switch combinations.

I have tried using the in side of the GCX, which did not work, also tried momentary on the ground control

domct203
Posts: 157
Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 11:07 am

Re: Multiple pre-amp, mesa high gain switch, ????

Post by domct203 » Tue Sep 06, 2011 7:21 am

No matter how you hook this up the Mesa Rectifiers need a proper speaker load at all times or you will damage the Output Transformer, and possibly other components in the output section of the amp.

Dom
Ground Control Pro | GCX | Control Switcher | PP2+ | Mesa Dual Rectifier Roadster | Mesa Mark V | Mesa Stiletto Deuce | (2) Mesa Rectifier 4X12's | '73 Gibson Les Paul Custom | '12 Gibson Les Paul Trad | '10 Carvin CT6M | TC G-Major

JohnClark
Posts: 7453
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Multiple pre-amp, mesa high gain switch, ????

Post by JohnClark » Wed Sep 07, 2011 5:36 pm

skot wrote:Im having issues with switching the high gain amp switcher with the GCX, Im using the out switches on channels 5-8 and when you have channel 5 on by itself, it turns on all 4 amps on the mesa switcher, 6 turns 3 channels on, 7 turns 2 channels on, and 8 turns 1 channel on.
In the above example is only one of the GCX Loops on at any given time? Do you have any other cables connected to any of the jacks on GCX Loops 5 - 8? Specifically which jacks do each of these GCX Loops connect to on the amp switcher?
skot wrote:I have tried using the in side of the GCX, which did not work, also tried momentary on the ground control
Only the Send/N.C. or the Out/N.O. jacks will work for performing switch functions with the GCX.
------------------====Cheers!====------------------
Image
---------==Voodoo Lab Magician & Tech==---------

Post Reply