How to Phantom Power a Control Switcher

Q & A for building and interfacing your rack gear with Ground Control Pro and GCX-based systems.
Post Reply
planethood
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 7:39 am

How to Phantom Power a Control Switcher

Post by planethood » Sun Oct 21, 2012 2:45 pm

Hi John!

I have an Engl preamp that provides phantom power out of its midi in jack (to supply power for the Engl midi footcontrollers). Can I use it to power my Voodoo Control Switcher? I don't, however, want the phantom to continue through the switcher to the other midi devices that are earlier in my midi chain (the switcher is the last item in my chain before the preamp). My midi flow is....midi footcontroller -> GCX -> digital fx device -> Control Switcher -> Engl Preamp

In the preamp's manual, it states:
pin #1 - power supply approx 11 volts AC
pin#4 - midi data wire
pin# 2 - power supply approx 11 volts AC
Pin #5 - midi data wire
pin#3 - not connected

Here is the manual (middle of page 30):
http://www.englamps.de/fileadmin/user_u ... mp-om1.pdf

Finally, if I go this route, will I experience any ground issues? Would it be better to just use the included power supply for the switcher? (by using phantom power, I can eliminate the wall wort in my rig and keep an outlet open on my power conditoner).

Thanks!

JohnClark
Posts: 7465
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: How to Phantom Power a Control Switcher

Post by JohnClark » Mon Oct 22, 2012 9:41 am

As shipped, the Control Switcher will only provide phantom power on its MIDI In. There are jumpers inside that will enable the phantom power thru mode where it will both accept phantom power as well as provide it.

In this case, I would simply route the Control Switcher between the controller and the GCX, since the GCX will provide Phantom Power on the correct pins.

I hope that helps!




post edited so nobody can tell I goofed :oops:
------------------====Cheers!====------------------
Image
---------==Voodoo Lab Magician & Tech==---------

planethood
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 7:39 am

Re: How to Phantom Power a Control Switcher

Post by planethood » Mon Oct 22, 2012 3:33 pm

JohnClark wrote:As shipped, the Control Switcher will only provide phantom power on its MIDI In. There are jumpers inside that will enable the phantom power thru mode where it will both accept phantom power as well as provide it.

In this case, I would simply route the Control Switcher between the controller and the GCX, since the GCX will provide Phantom Power on the correct pins.

I hope that helps!
The problem I have is this...

My GCX and other effects are in one rack case (on top). Then, I feed my midi signal out of the top case into another rack case below, which contains my preamp and poweramp. I need the control switcher in the bottom rack with the preamp and power amp because it is going to be used to switch channels on the power amp. Thus, I was hoping to have the midi signal come from the top rack, feed into the switcher, then have that midi signal feed into my midi input of my preamp (which provides phantom power out on pins 1&2). Thus, the control switcher would get power from the preamp. Then, I would plug the 1/4' outputs of the control switcher into my power amp to switch its' channels (the poweramp does not have midi input to control switching functions).

I could wire a midi cable correctly to put the power on pins 1&2 on the preamp side and pins 1&3 on the switcher side. Right?

I also noticed in the control switcher manual that is takes 9v AC or DC. The preamp provides 11v AC on its midi input pins 1&2. Thus, this may not work. Huh?

JohnClark
Posts: 7465
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: How to Phantom Power a Control Switcher

Post by JohnClark » Mon Oct 22, 2012 3:42 pm

11V shouldn't be a problem for the Control Switcher.
------------------====Cheers!====------------------
Image
---------==Voodoo Lab Magician & Tech==---------

planethood
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 7:39 am

Re: How to Phantom Power a Control Switcher

Post by planethood » Fri Nov 09, 2012 10:44 am

JohnClark wrote:11V shouldn't be a problem for the Control Switcher.
Nice! I got the midi cable wired and hooked it up. Works great!

One question...does the phantom power pass out thru the 'midi in' on the Control Switcher and to other devices previously in my chain? I don't want that....

JohnClark
Posts: 7465
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: How to Phantom Power a Control Switcher

Post by JohnClark » Mon Nov 12, 2012 1:49 pm

planethood wrote:
JohnClark wrote:11V shouldn't be a problem for the Control Switcher.
Nice! I got the midi cable wired and hooked it up. Works great!

One question...does the phantom power pass out thru the 'midi in' on the Control Switcher and to other devices previously in my chain? I don't want that....
As shipped the Phantom Power will not go "thru" the Control Switcher. However, there are two berg jumpers directly behind the MIDI jacks that can be moved to enable the Phantom Power "thru" should you ever need it.
------------------====Cheers!====------------------
Image
---------==Voodoo Lab Magician & Tech==---------

planethood
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 7:39 am

Re: How to Phantom Power a Control Switcher

Post by planethood » Thu Mar 28, 2013 2:31 pm

Just double checking...so... if I send phantom power to the control switcher's 'midi out' port from my preamp, it WILL NOT continue to send that power out through the 'midi in' of the control switcher and back to the other midi devices earlier in my chain. Basically, I want it to accept the midi phantom power on the 'midi out', but ONLY have the control switcher use it. I don't want it going anywhere else. Does this make sense?!?! Do I have the jumper pins inside the unit OFF or ON?!?!

In a synopsis, I use a 7pin midi cable from my midi footcontroller on my pedalboard to a custom interface on the board. The cable carries phantom on pins 6&7. That 7 pin midi cable connects from the pedalboard interface to the front of an another interface located in the back of my top rack. On the rear of the interface, a 5 pin midi cable connects to a midi thru box which splits the signal and sends it to all of my midi devices in the rack. Addtionally, one of those midi cable plugs to an input on the back of the interface. It is now sent out through the front of the interface to a rack below through a 7 pin midi snake cable. Out of the back of the bottom interface, I connect a 5 pin midi cable to the midi in of my control switcher. The midi out of the CS connects to the preamp's midi input. That midi input can send phantom out on pins 1&2. Thus, I wired a special midi cable to connect the CS and preamp. On the preamp side, power is wired to pins 1&2. On the CS side, power is wired to pins 1&3. The preamp sends 11vac.

My concern is if that 11vac that is being supplied to the control switcher is going out of the 'midi in' port and back through my midi chain. This would be bad because it would be sending phantom on pins 1&3 to the previous items in my chain which could be bad news, right?
Last edited by planethood on Thu Jun 13, 2013 3:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

JohnClark
Posts: 7465
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: How to Phantom Power a Control Switcher

Post by JohnClark » Thu Mar 28, 2013 2:54 pm

I see I started the confusion earlier... oops! Getting out my trusty internet white-out!


The Control Switcher will always apply power to pins 1 and 3 on its MIDI In jack.

The jumpers only connect or disconnect the "phantom power" pins on the MIDI Out jack.

Because you want to phantom power your Control Switcher via its MIDI Out, you will have to set the jumpers so they are on both pins of the header. (didn't you have a picture of this here before?... it showed the jumpers connected as they should be to allow for phantom power thru)

You can either use a cable that does not wire pins 1 and 3, cut pins 1 and 3 out of the cable, or ask the manufacturer of whatever other piece of gear you are connecting to the MIDI In on the Control Switcher if they use pins 1 and 3 for anything.

I hope that helps!
------------------====Cheers!====------------------
Image
---------==Voodoo Lab Magician & Tech==---------

planethood
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 7:39 am

Re: How to Phantom Power a Control Switcher

Post by planethood » Thu Mar 28, 2013 5:04 pm

JohnClark wrote:I see I started the confusion earlier... oops! Getting out my trusty internet white-out!


The Control Switcher will always apply power to pins 1 and 3 on its MIDI In jack.

The jumpers only connect or disconnect the "phantom power" pins on the MIDI Out jack.

Because you want to phantom power your Control Switcher via its MIDI Out, you will have to set the jumpers so they are on both pins of the header. (didn't you have a picture of this here before?... it showed the jumpers connected as they should be to allow for phantom power thru)

You can either use a cable that does not wire pins 1 and 3, cut pins 1 and 3 out of the cable, or ask the manufacturer of whatever other piece of gear you are connecting to the MIDI In on the Control Switcher if they use pins 1 and 3 for anything.

I hope that helps!
Phew! The madness stops! I thought I was losing my mind?!?! No worries though...I'm always thankful for all the help you guys provide on all your products. Plus, I don't always explain things the best :)

Yes, I had a photo on here. Maybe I removed it in all my madness, but I don't remember. I thought you removed it. ARGH!! There must be ghosts in this house....

Post Reply