Powering from a Rocktron cable

Q & A for building and interfacing your rack gear with Ground Control Pro and GCX-based systems.
Post Reply
storm
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 11:38 am

Powering from a Rocktron cable

Post by storm » Thu Feb 20, 2014 11:03 am

I purchased the Rocktron 5-pin + power to 7-pin MIDI cable but the connector to the GCP power cord was shakey. I assumed a got a faulty cable and Sweetwater sent a replacement. This one connects even worse.

Did I make a mistake in thinking the supplied power cord connects to this cable? Is there a different power cord I was supposed to get for the GCP? Should I contact voodoo directly?

Advice helped.

JohnClark
Posts: 7435
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Powering from a Rocktron cable

Post by JohnClark » Thu Feb 20, 2014 12:55 pm

The Rocktron 5 to 7 MIDI cable will work with the Ground Control Pro but I have seen that the outer portion of their "pig tail" barrel jack can get quite loose if allowed to flex. Whenever I have had to use one, I have wrapped a zip tie around the barrel jack after connecting the Ground Control Pro power supply.

I hope that helps!
------------------====Cheers!====------------------
Image
---------==Voodoo Lab Magician & Tech==---------

storm
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 11:38 am

Re: Powering from a Rocktron cable

Post by storm » Sat Feb 22, 2014 3:09 pm

Hi John....very helpful thanks. That is indeed my problem. I took pliers to each barrel and the original cable seems to squeeze it better but neither really 'holds' the connection. I'll try your zip line idea. Awesome.

Post Reply