GCP Web Editor

Q & A for building and interfacing your rack gear with Ground Control Pro and GCX-based systems.
griphiam
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2015 3:31 pm

GCP Web Editor

Post by griphiam » Mon May 11, 2015 4:20 pm

Hi Everyone,

I just pushed up what I am considering a feature complete "Beta" of the GCP Web Editor :: http://gcproeditor.com/ :: It's a little rough around the edges, but it should allow you to customize everything.

I'm testing this myself with my own GCP, but if anyone wants to help it would be much appreciated (I don't have the pedal or GCX hardware for exotic configurations). Just dumping your current configuration and loading it into the editor and looking over it to see if everything is correct would be a big help.

Reminder -- always have backups of your configurations!

Mark

nyteowl
Posts: 1325
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 8:53 am

Re: GCP Web Editor

Post by nyteowl » Tue May 12, 2015 7:55 am

This should make a lot of people very happy.

I no longer use a GCPro, but I imported the 11-Rack Sysex file from this thread so I could take your editor for a test drive. I found it very user friendly and quite easy to navigate.

Well done you!!
I am not affiliated with Voodoo Lab in any way, but enjoy sharing what little MIDI and signal routing knowledge I have. If you find my assistance helpful, please pay it forward.

griphiam
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2015 3:31 pm

Re: GCP Web Editor

Post by griphiam » Tue May 12, 2015 9:08 am

Thanks. That's actually a good syx to test with as it actually has all the instant access and pedal configurations.

There is a bit more I want to clean up visually (alignment and spacing) which hopefully I'll get to in the next few weeks. Again, if anyone runs into any issues, let me know (here, twitter or on github and I'll crank out a fix)

Mark

pushonhigher
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 4:39 am

Re: GCP Web Editor

Post by pushonhigher » Thu Jun 25, 2015 12:07 pm

Hi Mark,
many people including me have been looking for such an editor for ages...!
Great work!
Is there a brief explanation how to use the editor correctly?
First bulk your presets into The editor (sysex).
Then how Do I swap presets around without overwriting others etc.
And how Do I Save The new order of presets and transfer it back to The GCP?
I use Software version 1.03 on The GCP, could that cause any Problems?
Thank you very much,
Gernot

griphiam
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2015 3:31 pm

Re: GCP Web Editor

Post by griphiam » Sun Jun 28, 2015 9:07 pm

Right now you can't "move" presets around. Essentially the "Copy" button allows you to copy Preset X and overwrite Preset Y with it's contents. Maybe down the road I can get "reordering" to work.

After you're finished editing, the "Download" button will allow you to get a syx file back.

As far as firmware goes, I honestly have no idea if the sysex dump definition is the same between 1.03 and 1.13. If you are having issues getting the editor to load a dump file, could you post your sysex file? I can run it through a hex editor and see if there are incompatible changes in the definition.

macostaq
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 2:15 pm

Re: GCP Web Editor

Post by macostaq » Fri Sep 18, 2015 5:30 am

Hello griphiam,

does the link still working ? I can't go to the webpage.

I would love to test your editor.

Thanks

Antoine

nyteowl
Posts: 1325
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 8:53 am

Re: GCP Web Editor

Post by nyteowl » Fri Sep 18, 2015 11:12 am

I just tried the link and got connected immediately. What browser are you using? I think I read somewhere that Firefox works best.
I am not affiliated with Voodoo Lab in any way, but enjoy sharing what little MIDI and signal routing knowledge I have. If you find my assistance helpful, please pay it forward.

macostaq
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 2:15 pm

Re: GCP Web Editor

Post by macostaq » Fri Sep 18, 2015 1:10 pm

I finally get connected, I think the problem came from my internet provider.

But I can't drop my syx file into it, it won't do anything .

Do I have to do something before using it ?

thanks

macostaq
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 2:15 pm

Re: GCP Web Editor

Post by macostaq » Fri Oct 16, 2015 4:23 am

Hello,

I finally get it working. It's only working with firefox on my Mac. It's a great tool. Thanks griphiam.

That could be awesome to have it like "a mac program" to be able to work with it without any internet connection,
and also with the moving preset option.

anyway great tool. Thanks again.

guitarmech111
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2015 4:28 pm

Re: GCP Web Editor

Post by guitarmech111 » Thu Dec 24, 2015 2:41 pm

I am having an issue with the editor exporting a file that I have edited for the Eleven Rack. The issue is that the GCP does not get the edited information for any patch past 53 in the GCP. All patches up to 53 work with the new names and parms. When I press 54, the preset is set to 1. It is supposed to be patch 23. Not ony that, but the patch name is 54.A.A.NZ THISTI - The 'A.A.' is not in the editor as part of the name. All subsequent patches are not able to select the desired patches either. All changes were written correctly up to patch 53(PGM CH 22)

I am using the Chrome editor in Win8. The IE doesn't work for the editor in Win8.

Is there a fix for this issue already? I would love to edit the SYX on the computer and not have to manually edit this setup for the eleven rack on the GCP.

TIA!

Post Reply