GCX & GCP 2 Amp setup

Q & A for building and interfacing your rack gear with Ground Control Pro and GCX-based systems.
Post Reply
CAR-15
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 3:08 pm

GCX & GCP 2 Amp setup

Post by CAR-15 » Wed Jul 01, 2015 8:18 pm

I have a Mesa Dual Rectifier Roadster head with a Rectifier 4x12 cabinet wired in stereo. I just got a Orange Jim Root Dark Terror head. I want to run the Mesa on one side of the cabinet and the Orange on the other side. I also have a G Major 2 and I would like to set this up to have effects usable on both amps. Before I got the Orange I just ran the G Major 2 into the FX loop on the Mesa.

I WILL NOT be running both amps at the same time. I just want to know what the best way to hook all of this up!!

Thanks in advance!

nyteowl
Posts: 1389
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 8:53 am

Re: GCX & GCP 2 Amp setup

Post by nyteowl » Thu Jul 02, 2015 2:47 pm

Piece of cake.

First, please refer to the Example 2 diagram on Page 8 of your GCX Manual. This will show you how to connect the two heads so you can A/B between them.

Next, you'll want to connect the two FX Loops to the GCX, and I would make those connections as follows:


Amp 1 FX Send -> Loop 7 In; Amp 2 FX Send -> Loop 7 Return; Loop 7 Out -> G-Major 2 Left (Mono) In.
G-Major 2 Left (Mono) Out -> Loop 8 In; Loop 8 Send -> Amp 2 FX Return; Loop 8 Out -> Amp 1 FX Return


If you make these connections, Amp 1 will be your default amp. When Loops 7 and 8 are Off, your guitar signal will be routed through Amp1 with the GM2 in the Amp1 FX Loop. When Loops 7 and 8 are On, your guitar signal will be routed through Amp2 with the GM2 in the Amp2 FX Loop.

All that's left now is to program presets into your GCPro that will let you select the desired amp, along with the desired GM2 effect patch, with a single button.

Hope this helps, or at least points you in the right direction...
For Sale: Original DMC GCX in Excellent Condition ($275) and a far more versatile SoundSculpture GL also in Excellent Condition ($1750). Free CONUS Shipping.

CAR-15
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 3:08 pm

Re: GCX & GCP 2 Amp setup

Post by CAR-15 » Thu Jul 02, 2015 7:48 pm

Now to add a wrinkle. I use the GCX to channel switch the Mesa. So on my GCP which I have setup to use the bottom row of buttons to select my clean, orange & red channel. I would like to use the last button to turn on the Orange Dark Terror. How would I achieve this?

nyteowl
Posts: 1389
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 8:53 am

Re: GCX & GCP 2 Amp setup

Post by nyteowl » Fri Jul 03, 2015 11:25 am

nyteowl wrote: ...please refer to the Example 2 diagram on Page 8 of your GCX Manual. This will show you how to connect the two heads so you can A/B between them.

Please refer to Page 16 in your GCPro manual for instructions on how to edit presets. Assuming your Mesa is Amp1, make sure that for every bank of presets you've programmed into your GCPro, whatever loop you are using to A/B your amps is always inactive for Preset buttons 1, 2, and 3 and always active for Preset Button 4.
For Sale: Original DMC GCX in Excellent Condition ($275) and a far more versatile SoundSculpture GL also in Excellent Condition ($1750). Free CONUS Shipping.

CAR-15
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 3:08 pm

Re: GCX & GCP 2 Amp setup

Post by CAR-15 » Wed Jul 08, 2015 7:27 pm

Ok, I tried setting this up today and got it to work with just the amps themselves. I didn't hook up the G Major 2. I have a problem though. Both amps are seriously noisy when hooked up this way. The same hum is present in both amps when switched on or off. Any suggestions?

nyteowl
Posts: 1389
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 8:53 am

Re: GCX & GCP 2 Amp setup

Post by nyteowl » Mon Jul 13, 2015 8:14 am

Noise problems such as you describe can usually be traced to bad cables and/or bad grounding.
For Sale: Original DMC GCX in Excellent Condition ($275) and a far more versatile SoundSculpture GL also in Excellent Condition ($1750). Free CONUS Shipping.

Post Reply