Control Switcher and EVH 5150 III 100w

Q & A for building and interfacing your rack gear with Ground Control Pro and GCX-based systems.
Manhell
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 3:33 pm

Control Switcher and EVH 5150 III 100w

Post by Manhell » Thu Sep 22, 2016 12:07 pm

HI there,

Where I live is really hard to get the custom cables for this so I probably have to have one made for me, can anyone tell me how's the wiring?

thanks

JohnClark
Posts: 7494
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Control Switcher and EVH 5150 III 100w

Post by JohnClark » Thu Sep 22, 2016 4:00 pm

You can get this cable directly from us and we can ship it to you... wherever you are ;)

Also, here is a link to a thread that has a diagram for how to build your own cable...

http://www.voodoolab.com/forum/viewtopi ... +iii#p9315

I hope that helps!
------------------====Cheers!====------------------
Image
---------==Voodoo Lab Magician & Tech==---------

Manhell
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 3:33 pm

Re: Control Switcher and EVH 5150 III 100w

Post by Manhell » Tue Sep 27, 2016 6:49 pm

Thanks john,

just tell me what happens if I use a normal Din 5 cable with our the common pin? will it do any arm or not work?

JohnClark
Posts: 7494
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Control Switcher and EVH 5150 III 100w

Post by JohnClark » Wed Sep 28, 2016 10:19 am

A standard MIDI Cable connected between the Control Switcher MULTI jack and the 5150 III 100W Footswitch jack will not work.

The cable must be wired as described in the thread mentioned above...

5 Pin End ---------------> 7 Pin End
1 ----------------------------> 1
4 ----------------------------> 3
2 ----------------------------> 6
5 ----------------------------> 4
3 ----------------------------> 2
------------------====Cheers!====------------------
Image
---------==Voodoo Lab Magician & Tech==---------

Manhell
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 3:33 pm

Re: Control Switcher and EVH 5150 III 100w

Post by Manhell » Tue Oct 04, 2016 7:03 am

IT WORKS :D

Thanks

Manhell
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 3:33 pm

Re: Control Switcher and EVH 5150 III 100w

Post by Manhell » Wed Oct 05, 2016 4:32 pm

The Fx Loop is kind of strange, it goes on an off but I change preset and it goes bananas.

How do I fix this?

JohnClark
Posts: 7494
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Control Switcher and EVH 5150 III 100w

Post by JohnClark » Thu Oct 06, 2016 9:31 am

Does your Control Switcher have the Black buttons or the Red buttons?

The version with the Black buttons cannot properly control the Effects Loop.

The version with the Red buttons can control the Effects Loop if you set Button #4 to Momentary Pulse On Pulse Off.
------------------====Cheers!====------------------
Image
---------==Voodoo Lab Magician & Tech==---------

Manhell
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 3:33 pm

Re: Control Switcher and EVH 5150 III 100w

Post by Manhell » Fri Oct 07, 2016 4:43 pm

It's the black buttons, can I do something to upgrade it?

JohnClark
Posts: 7494
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Control Switcher and EVH 5150 III 100w

Post by JohnClark » Tue Oct 11, 2016 9:25 am

You could upgrade to the newer model, but maybe it isn't necessary...

What else is in this rig? For instance, are the effects in loops of an audio switcher?
------------------====Cheers!====------------------
Image
---------==Voodoo Lab Magician & Tech==---------

Manhell
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 3:33 pm

Re: Control Switcher and EVH 5150 III 100w

Post by Manhell » Thu Oct 13, 2016 1:13 pm

luckly for me I want to incorporate a Line mixer with the GCX turning on and off the effects so I guess I can use the FX loop always open.

Post Reply