It is currently Tue Aug 22, 2017 1:37 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: HEX(s) + Soleman
PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2016 5:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 4:46 pm
Posts: 6
So I'm thinking ahead to a studio setup to be able to use all the pedals and rack units I have now (and new ones ones on order), or at least have them ready to punch in on a whim and also keep them grouped up in different combinations for use with an integrated switching system with a small footprint MIDI controller near my DAW desk. I like the idea of a small MIDI foot controller as opposed to a looper style, where there are many cables on a board at your feet, much nicer in a small studio, and I have a crazy idea to mount all the pedals in my angled rack to get them all at arms reach for tweaking alongside the rack units and unclutter the floor...anyway...The Hex units seem ideal for this purpose , together with an Audio Source Soleman pedal, I think...as it has an LED display and is very compact, if only 4 footswitches...I anticipate about 20 total pedals and rack units...about a 50/50 split of 'in front of the amp' stuff and in the fx loop stuff...Some of the pedals and units are MIDI capable...I'm thinking starting out with two Hex units, see how that works and if I can both setup and switch from groups of fx and also integrate the MIDI functions of pedals or units to a single small expression pedal. Then if I like that, invest in two more HEX to cover every single effect. Is it enough just to daisy chain from the MIDI out of the Soleman into Hex 1 and from that to HEX 2 and from that to the individual MIDI pedals and units and still have all switch capabilities and assignable MIDI functions to the expression pedal? I'm thinking this will work, but the only thing probably that won't be possible with a permanently patched setup, is moving an effect(s) from fx loop of the amps to front of the amp or vice versa. Changing up the pedal order as well..I do like that I can use input 1 on the HEX's to switch between the amps channels too and group that in with different grouped fx changes.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HEX(s) + Soleman
PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 2:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 6606
Location: The Lab
Hard to find the questions in there ;) forgive me if I missed anything.

Continually chaining from one MIDI Device to the next should be perfectly acceptable. If it is an exceptionally large amount of devices, or there are multiple long cable runs, then you might need something like a MIDI splitter to feed each device the same signal, but this is somewhat a rarity these days with modern MIDI gear.

Loops 2-6 on a HEX are pre-wired in Series. So you would need separate units for effects in front of an amp, and effects in the effects loop.

I hope that helps!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HEX(s) + Soleman
PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 8:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 4:46 pm
Posts: 6
JohnClark wrote:
Hard to find the questions in there ;) forgive me if I missed anything.

Continually chaining from one MIDI Device to the next should be perfectly acceptable. If it is an exceptionally large amount of devices, or there are multiple long cable runs, then you might need something like a MIDI splitter to feed each device the same signal, but this is somewhat a rarity these days with modern MIDI gear.

Loops 2-6 on a HEX are pre-wired in Series. So you would need separate units for effects in front of an amp, and effects in the effects loop.

I hope that helps!


thank you, it did!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HEX(s) + Soleman
PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2017 1:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 4:46 pm
Posts: 6
OK, I have assembled 3 of the four Hex units and I just picked up a Vox AC10 amp to record mainly clean and pedals sounds and switch between that and a Marshall DSL40c for crunchier stuff...I think I have the MIDI connections/switching figured out now, but another question came to mind.....I plan to have 2 Hex's for time based pedals that will go the effects loop of the Marshall and 2 Hex's for 'front of the amp' pedals...How can I, or rather is it even possible, to both have the option of assigning a Hex isolated loop to switch between the Marshall and Vox...and to really complicate things, can I also have a way to use another isolated loop to switch the time based FX in the dedicated Hex's for the Marshall's FX loop to all be switched over to the end of the chain after the 'front of' pedals and have them then all go into the Vox? :?:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HEX(s) + Soleman
PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2017 7:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 6606
Location: The Lab
Switching the effects between being in the FX Loop of one amp vs going to the front end of another amp can be done, but it can cause some strange problems since the level change between the two routings can be pretty big.

It would require two A/B switches... or two of the Isolated Loops (one from each HEX). One will A/B between the FX Send of the Marshall or the output of the last "front of amp" pedal. The other will A/B between selecting the FX Return on the Marshall or the Instrument Input on the Vox.

Good Luck!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HEX(s) + Soleman
PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2017 2:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 4:46 pm
Posts: 6
JohnClark wrote:
Switching the effects between being in the FX Loop of one amp vs going to the front end of another amp can be done, but it can cause some strange problems since the level change between the two routings can be pretty big.

It would require two A/B switches... or two of the Isolated Loops (one from each HEX). One will A/B between the FX Send of the Marshall or the output of the last "front of amp" pedal. The other will A/B between selecting the FX Return on the Marshall or the Instrument Input on the Vox.

Good Luck!



I'm getting output from the Vox, but only very faint output, barely audible, on the Marshall...probably have something connected wrong, ...the isolated loops still have to be connected to the correct IN or OUT of the chain right, I'm just not understanding why the Marshall getting sound thru... I think it's what needs to go where on specific isolated loops and where does the Marshall INPUT cable need to go?...I have all four Hex units now, and I tried hooking things up like you mentioned...so here's the setup:

left to right in the rack (this is before using you're connection info in your last post):


Hex 2 (front of amp fx, input 6 is the last front of amp effect pedal) Hex 1 (front of amp, output jumpered to Hex2)
Hex 3 (time based fx, input of 1 jumpered from Hex 2 ouput) Hex 4 (last unit...time based fx, output jumpered to Hex1 isolated output to switch between Vox and Marshall)

...before realizing the time based fx sound pretty bad into the front of the Marshall and wanting to take advantage of it's fx loop, it was pretty simple just to use Hex1's isolated ouput to switch between it and the Vox...but now since I want to use the time based fx in the Marshalls loop but still use the front-of-amp pedals in front of the Marshall at the same time, I'm getting a bit lost lol...

So I have 4 isolated loops to take advantage of, could you possibly give me a specific jack by jack account of the SPECIFIC two of the four isolated jacks and what exactly needs to go into them, to get this to work? and where does the Marshall input jack plug in at?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HEX(s) + Soleman
PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2017 1:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 6606
Location: The Lab
I didn't think this one all the way thru... looks like you'll actually need to use three of the isolated loops to accomplish this... oops

Here is a more complete connection list:

1. HEX #2 Output to HEX #2 Loop 1 In.
2. HEX #2 Loop 1 Out to HEX #3 Loop 1 In.
3. HEX #2 Loop 1 Send to Marshall Instrument Input.
4. Marshall FX Send to HEX #3 Loop 1 Return.
5. HEX #3 Loop 1 Out to HEX #3 Loop 2 In.
6. HEX #3 Output to HEX #4 Loop 2 In.
7. HEX #4 Output to HEX #4 Loop 1 In.
8. HEX #4 Loop 1 Out to Instrument Vox Instrument Input
9. HEX #4 Loop 1 Send to Marshal FX Return
*10. You might need to jumper the sleeves of HEX #3 Loop 1 Return and HEX #3 Loop 1 Out to provide a ground path.

With Loop 1 on HEXs #2, #3, and #4 turned OFF you will route all effects to the front of the Vox.
With Loop 1 on HEXs #2, #3, and #4 turned ON you will route HEXs #1 & #2 to the front of the Marshall and HEXs #3 & #4 to the Marshall FX Loop.

Switching this routing live could produce a loud pop or other unwanted behavior since you are bouncing HEXs #3 and #4 between Instrument and Line Level. You will also need to be sure to switch all three "Loop 1s" in unison to avoid routing the FX Send of the Marshall to the front end of the VOX.

I hope that helps!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HEX(s) + Soleman
PostPosted: Thu Mar 09, 2017 11:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 4:46 pm
Posts: 6
.


Last edited by Certified on Thu Mar 09, 2017 11:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HEX(s) + Soleman
PostPosted: Thu Mar 09, 2017 11:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 4:46 pm
Posts: 6
JohnClark wrote:
I didn't think this one all the way thru... looks like you'll actually need to use three of the isolated loops to accomplish this... oops

Here is a more complete connection list:

1. HEX #2 Output to HEX #2 Loop 1 In.
2. HEX #2 Loop 1 Out to HEX #3 Loop 1 In.
3. HEX #2 Loop 1 Send to Marshall Instrument Input.
4. Marshall FX Send to HEX #3 Loop 1 Return.
5. HEX #3 Loop 1 Out to HEX #3 Loop 2 In.
6. HEX #3 Output to HEX #4 Loop 2 In.
7. HEX #4 Output to HEX #4 Loop 1 In.
8. HEX #4 Loop 1 Out to Instrument Vox Instrument Input
9. HEX #4 Loop 1 Send to Marshal FX Return
*10. You might need to jumper the sleeves of HEX #3 Loop 1 Return and HEX #3 Loop 1 Out to provide a ground path.

With Loop 1 on HEXs #2, #3, and #4 turned OFF you will route all effects to the front of the Vox.
With Loop 1 on HEXs #2, #3, and #4 turned ON you will route HEXs #1 & #2 to the front of the Marshall and HEXs #3 & #4 to the Marshall FX Loop.

Switching this routing live could produce a loud pop or other unwanted behavior since you are bouncing HEXs #3 and #4 between Instrument and Line Level. You will also need to be sure to switch all three "Loop 1s" in unison to avoid routing the FX Send of the Marshall to the front end of the VOX.

I hope that helps!


oh my gosh, thank you SO much,...I could've tinkered for years and never figured out that combination ! I'm going to get down to rerouting and see what happens...


UPDATE: It works perfectly!!...You are the MAN!...I wish there was a way to show my gratitude because I don't think I would've figured this out without many frustrating hours , if then! I'd send a $20 your way via paypal if you're so inclined!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: