Controlling the GC Pro via a sequencer

Q & A for building and interfacing your rack gear with Ground Control Pro and GCX-based systems.
0verfl0w
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 2:54 pm

Re: Controlling the GC Pro via a sequencer

Post by 0verfl0w » Wed Jun 07, 2017 3:37 pm

Alright - I finally had time to test things again.

I changed the Midi source from the laptop to a PC.
Changed the software from Ableton to Cubase.
Used different Midi interfaces and cables.
Unfortunately the effect was the exact same.

Program Change 5 called a preset without lighting the red indicator.
Program Change 11 called the very same preset correctly (but it should have called a different one).

I only now noticed that there is a slight difference between these 2 cases.
Program Change 5 calls preset 0.5 (which shouldn't even exist).
I never programed a preset 0.5 as my GC is set to 4 preset mode.
But somehow this is the very same preset as 1.1.
It just gets called without the red button indicator lighting up.

The Ground Control is a pretty old one.
Firmware is 1.0.2.
Maybe that is something to consider.

I also send you a mail with a short video for you to see the effect.

Best regards

JohnClark
Posts: 7129
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Controlling the GC Pro via a sequencer

Post by JohnClark » Thu Jun 08, 2017 10:23 am

0verfl0w wrote:The Ground Control is a pretty old one.
Firmware is 1.0.2.
Maybe that is something to consider.
Ah-Ha!

Sorry I didn't ask this first... I must be slipping :?

I just re-tested with a v1.02 Ground Control Pro and see the same problem you are seeing!

I have also now updated this Ground Control Pro to the current firmware and see that it fixes this problem.

I want to send you a current production firmware chip to install in your Ground Control Pro. Please write to info@voodoolab.com to give us your shipping address and I'll get this on the way to you as soon as possible.

I hope that helps!

0verfl0w
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 2:54 pm

Re: Controlling the GC Pro via a sequencer

Post by 0verfl0w » Thu Jun 08, 2017 11:48 am

Hi,

I just got a mail from Ben asking for my address to ship the new firmware chip.

Once again many thanks for your time - this is great customer support!

Best regards

Post Reply