Latency with Line 6 M13

Q & A for building and interfacing your rack gear with Ground Control Pro and GCX-based systems.
Post Reply
Kraftybob
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2017 8:09 am

Latency with Line 6 M13

Post by Kraftybob » Wed Oct 11, 2017 10:55 pm

Hello All:

I have the Line 6 M13 and the VooDoo Lab Control Switcher to use the MIDI from the M13 to change the change the channel on my Marshall DSL40C. The problem is I'm getting about a 1/2 second delay when I change scenes & channels on the M13 and this is likely a deal breaker for me as I don't want to deal with this in a live situation.

I'm pretty confident the issue is with the M13 and not the Control Switcher, but I thought I'd check with this forum to see if anyone else has run into this and if so, what resolved it?

Secondly, does anyone have the POD HD500X and use MIDI to change amp channels? Are you getting any latency with that?

Thanks in advance!

Bob

JohnClark
Posts: 7086
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Latency with Line 6 M13

Post by JohnClark » Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:40 pm

I am not sure I have previously heard of this happening... does the amp switch within a reasonable time when pressing buttons on the Control Switcher itself?

Kraftybob
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2017 8:09 am

Re: Latency with Line 6 M13

Post by Kraftybob » Wed Oct 18, 2017 10:09 am

Hi John:

I've been doing some checking around and the issue is definitely with the M13. Seems Line 6's response is the M13 is not designed to be a MIDI controller and that the MIDI Out is for backing up patches, etc. With that they have no intention of addressing any latency.

I also confirmed that your Control Switcher is NOT the issue. When I manually change channels by pressing the buttons on the Control Switcher it's instant - just as if I was using the Foot Switch.

I'm trying to learn how to deal with the latency as about 1/4th of the songs I play require an immediate transition mid-song. Overall I'm happy with the M13 and using the Control Switcher to change amp channels so I'm hoping this works out.

Thanks for the follow-up.

Bob

kissrawk
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 6:19 am

Re: Latency with Line 6 M13

Post by kissrawk » Wed Jan 24, 2018 8:02 am

Anyone figured out how to fix the m13 amp channel switch latency? cheers

ozzynotwood
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 1:57 am

Re: Latency with Line 6 M13

Post by ozzynotwood » Mon Jan 29, 2018 12:05 am

kissrawk wrote:Anyone figured out how to fix the m13 amp channel switch latency? cheers
I'm going to sound like a Line6 hater here but their stuff is beginner-grade garbage. It's always fun watching the other gear forums. Every time Line6 release something everyone gets super excited, buys the new gear, sells it 3 months later. Line6 are good at hype & marketing & that's about it. It's a tough pill to swallow after you've handed over the cash, just sell it & go for single pedals.

.....& you can't 'fix' latency on your own.

Post Reply