I Need More Instant Access

Q & A for building and interfacing your rack gear with Ground Control Pro and GCX-based systems.
Post Reply
VncRockstar
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 11:31 pm
Location: Vancouver, WA [Portland, OR]
Contact:

I Need More Instant Access

Post by VncRockstar » Mon May 18, 2009 11:17 am

I've been successfully running Ground Control Pro and GCX-1 with my Mesa Stiletto Head but I have recently added a Rectifier [in Stereo] to fill up and supplement for the lack of low end of the Stiletto. My problem is, I would like my Instant access to change the same loops of both GCX-1 and GCX-2 without having to retreat to using presets for the same function.

For example: I run an EQ [EQ-6 in Loop 4 of GCX-1 and EQ-7 in Loop 4 of GCX-2] in front of each Mesa and would like my EQ pedals to turn On and Off simultaneously. I would also like both Mesas to switch Channels when I step on Loop 7.

Is it possible to assign Instant Access buttons to affect both GCX 1 and 2 simultaneously?

-Reuben-

GCX-1 with Mesa Stiletto Head in the following configuration:

Ground Control Pro: 4 Presets + Instant Access

GCX-1
Loop 1: TS-9 Overdrive
Loop 2: Sparkle Drive
Loop 3: Flange
Loop 4: EQ-6
-Into the front of the amp (Input).-
Loop 5: Rocktron Harmonizer
Loop 6: Eventide Delay
-Into the Effects Loop-
Loop 7: Channel Switching (from Ch1 to Ch2 on Mesa)
Loop 8: Solo Boost On/Off Function (on Mesa)

Not yet successful addition... GCX-2 with Mesa Dual Rectifier Head in the following configuration:
GCX-2
Loop 1: empty
Loop 2: empty
Loop 3: empty
Loop 4: EQ-7
-Into the front of the amp (Input).-
Loop 5: empty
Loop 6: Boss DD-3 Delay
-Into the Effects Loop-
Loop 7: Channel Switching (from Ch1 to Ch2 on Mesa)
Loop 8: empty :( :( :(
Attachments
Vncrockstar_Rig.jpg
Vncrockstar_Rig.jpg (230.79 KiB) Viewed 5426 times
Last edited by VncRockstar on Fri May 22, 2009 1:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

Josh Fiden
Site Admin
Posts: 177
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 11:36 pm

Re: I Need More Instant Access

Post by Josh Fiden » Wed May 20, 2009 10:36 pm

There is no provision to assign an instant access button to multiple functions from the Ground Control Pro. Normally, if you want to change multiple things, you would create presets.

It is possible to modify the GCX so that one loop function controls 2 loops. This is a fairly easy modification. For example, turning loop #7 on/off would actuate both loops 7 & 8. If you arrange the loops so that functions you want to parallel are in the same GCX, this is a possible solution.

Josh Fiden
Founder / CEO

sasquatch
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 1:29 am

Re: I Need More Instant Access

Post by sasquatch » Fri Jun 05, 2009 6:24 pm

by modification do you mean pulling out the soldering iron or is this a midi programming thing? this may help with my fx loop problem. thanks

Josh Fiden
Site Admin
Posts: 177
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 11:36 pm

Re: I Need More Instant Access

Post by Josh Fiden » Sat Jun 06, 2009 7:55 am

sasquatch wrote:by modification do you mean pulling out the soldering iron or is this a midi programming thing? this may help with my fx loop problem. thanks
Soldering iron...! Cut and splice a couple of control wires together.

Post Reply