It is currently Sun Jul 15, 2018 10:07 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 5150 III, GCP, Gmajor problems.
PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 2:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 1:35 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Upstate NY
Hello!
I am having a problem setting up my 5150III 50watt (New version with concentric knobs) MY Digital music ground control pro, And G Major.
I am struggling with getting the amp channels to switch.
I have rest everything on everything multiple times, GCP midi out to G major, G major midi through, to EVH 5150. I then name the g major as device 1, channel 2 on the GCP, Of course first I switch the G Major to midi channel 2. I then switch the CPG to 4 preset setting. for some reason g major user preset one will be switch 2, 2 will be switch 3, and 3 will be switch four on the GCP. I then edit the channels to reflect the proper preset on the G major.And put the slashes in for switch 4. I then reset the heads midi memory. then start to program the amps channels. I enter midi mode on the head. will select blue for switch one, preset 1. Red for preset 2 switch 2. and do nothing for 3 because green is the native ,midi setting. so 3 just changes the preset on the g major. It will work fine for a while, or until i power the rig off for the night. Then it either stops switching amp channels after being on for awhile, Or does not switch amp channels when I power it back on hours later. Or sometimes, it starts working again. It will still change presets on theg major, but not the amp. I see the midi light light up when i depress buttons on the GCP. Would updating the firmware on the GCP help possibly? The GCP is at something like version 1.02.? I"m new to midi, And have been struggling for a week or so now with this.
Thanks in advance.

_________________
EVH 5150III
TC GMajor
GCP.

Boogie single Rec
5150II

Boogie 4X12
Krankenstein 4X12
Marshall JMC 900 4X12


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 5150 III, GCP, Gmajor problems.
PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2018 12:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 7011
Location: The Lab
Is the G-Major the only MIDI device named and assigned a MIDI Channel in the Device Name / Channel list on the Ground Control Pro?

That it works at all is certainly a good start. That it fails later but only the amp stops responding suggests its either the amp itself or the MIDI cable going to the amp.

The next time the amp stops responding, try pulling the cable that runs to the G-Major MIDI In and connect it instead to the amp's MIDI In to see if it starts responding again.

Let us know how it goes!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 5150 III, GCP, Gmajor problems.
PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2018 9:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 1:35 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Upstate NY
The way it seems to work now is that if I turn the rack stuff on, wait a minute, then turn on the 5150III it will work sometimes. Other times I have to put the head into learn mode, then take it off learn mode, and it works. So weird.

_________________
EVH 5150III
TC GMajor
GCP.

Boogie single Rec
5150II

Boogie 4X12
Krankenstein 4X12
Marshall JMC 900 4X12


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 5150 III, GCP, Gmajor problems.
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2018 5:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 1:35 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Upstate NY
Ah, got it working properly. amazing wat switching cables will do!!
Thanks!

_________________
EVH 5150III
TC GMajor
GCP.

Boogie single Rec
5150II

Boogie 4X12
Krankenstein 4X12
Marshall JMC 900 4X12


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: