PX-8 Plus with Eventide H9

Q & A for building and interfacing your rack gear with Ground Control Pro and GCX-based systems.
LoneTone

PX-8 Plus with Eventide H9

Post by LoneTone » Wed May 02, 2018 7:44 am

Hi there -

I'm brand new to switchers in general...just picked up the PX-8 Plus Dingbat board.

With the preset mode on the PX-8 Plus, am I able to recall different H9 effects for different presets? If so, how do I configure? Also, how would I wire the MIDI cable between the H9 and PX-8 Plus (which input(s)/output(s) on each)?

Thanks in advance for any input!

JohnClark

Re: PX-8 Plus with Eventide H9

Post by JohnClark » Wed May 09, 2018 10:11 am

It should work right out of the box. Connect the MIDI Out of the PX-8 Plus to the MIDI In of the H9. PX-8 Plus presets will send a Program Change on MIDI Channel 1, so if it isn't working make sure the H9 is set to receive MIDI Program Changes on MIDI Channel 1.

For each PX-8 Preset, you will program the H9 to do the sound you want.

Let us know if you get stuck!

LoneTone

Post by LoneTone » Wed May 09, 2018 3:24 pm

Great. Thanks, John!

srmd22

Post by srmd22 » Sun Sep 16, 2018 11:30 pm

I am just about to order a Dingbat board with PX-8, and I also have an H9. I just am wondering, not sure from the explanation - if I have the H9 connected to the PX-8 midi, will the correct program change be automatically sent to the H9 for each preset, or do I have to adjust any control change settings on the H9 (presuming it is receiving on channel 1). For example, if I have a the H9 set to say a chorus patch for one preset, and then a reverb patch for a second preset, will the H9 automatically switch to the chorus when I hit the switch for the first preset, and the reverb when I hit the switch for the second? Will it also switch to whatever parameters were active for the specific H9 patch at the time of setting the preset, or only whatever parameters were last set for that patch (eg. the delay time or repeats)?

Thanks,

Seth