It is currently Sun Jul 22, 2018 6:42 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Two Amps Sharing One Effect Unit?
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 6:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:01 am
Posts: 8
I am running two amps with effects loops and have a single Strymon Timeline that I would like to share between the amps in an A/B setup. I have seen Andy Timmons run this setup successfully and would appreciate details on how to do it with my GCX unit. If possible, please be specific to make things easier. Any help is appreciated. Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Two Amps Sharing One Effect Unit?
PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2018 11:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 7012
Location: The Lab
One way you can do this is with with two GCX Loops acting as A/B switches... the first GCX Loop selects the preamp section (Effects Send) that will feed the input of the TimeLine, and the second GCX Loop selects which power amp section (Effects Return) the Timeline output goes to. This can be a little cumbersome however since it eats up GCX Loops.

What are the amps you will be using?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Two Amps Sharing One Effect Unit?
PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2018 2:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:01 am
Posts: 8
I am using a Mesa Boogie Lone Star and Mesa Boogie Stiletto Deuce II.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Two Amps Sharing One Effect Unit?
PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2018 3:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 7012
Location: The Lab
Cool, both these amps have series Effects Loops so in order to do a strict A/B between them and keep the TimeLine always available for the active amp you will need to do the two A/B thing I mention above. I'll use Loops 6, 7, and 8 (two A/Bs and a TimeLine Bypass) but you can use any three loops you have available.

-Preamp A/B
1. Lone Star Effects Send to Loop 6 In.
2. Stiletto Effects Send to Loop 6 Return.
3. Loop 6 Out to Loop 7 In.
-TimeLine Bypass
4. Loop 7 Send to TimeLine Input.
5. TimeLine Output to Loop 7 Return.
6. Loop 7 Out to Loop 8 In.
-Power Amp A/B
8. Loop 8 Send to Stiletto Effects Return.
9. Loop 8 Out to Lone Star Effects Return.
10. Rock out!

The basic setup here will give you the Lone Star when Loops 6 and 8 are Off and the Stiletto when they are On.
Loop 7 will engage/bypass the TimeLine.
You can use the GCX buffer to split the signal to the front end of both amps... no need to add another switch to A/B them here.

Let us know how it goes or if you run into any troubles!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Two Amps Sharing One Effect Unit?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2018 6:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:01 am
Posts: 8
Thank you so much! I really appreciate it.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


cron