PLEASE HELP SETUP 2 GCX's

Q & A for building and interfacing your rack gear with Ground Control Pro and GCX-based systems.
Geoff101
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2019 2:57 pm

PLEASE HELP SETUP 2 GCX's

Post by Geoff101 » Fri Feb 01, 2019 3:12 pm

Hiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii

Can anyone be so kind as to draw me a map with the Blank GCX Worksheets

Using 2 GCX's, Ground Control Pro, 11 Pedals and a Rack mounted tuner(for now)

73 Hiwatt Custom 100 (Model DR103)
Ground Control Pro

Rack Tuner
Boss CS-2 Compressor
Demeter Compulator
MXR Uni-Vibe
Rams Head Big Muff
Green Sovtek Big Muff (Reissue)
B.K Butler Tube Driver
3x Boss GE-7's
Boss CE-5 Chorus
T.C. Electronic Nova Delay

Creating a Rack for my Pink Floyd setup

JohnClark
Posts: 7401
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: PLEASE HELP SETUP 2 GCX's

Post by JohnClark » Fri Feb 01, 2019 6:10 pm

This should be a rather easy setup to wire up... it is just going to be 11 GCX Loops in Series it looks like.

Basic Connections:
1. Guitar to GCX #1 front panel Guitar In.
2. Guitar Out to GCX #1 Loop 1 In.
3. Now you would wire the Out of a Loop to the In of the next Loop... so the Out of Loop 1 will go to the In of Loop 2, the out of Loop 2 will go to the In of Loop 3... all the way thru all eight loops.
4. The Out of GCX #1 Loop 8 will go to GCX #2 Loop 1 In and start again wiring each loop in series.
5. The Out of the last Loop you use for a pedal will go to the front of your amp.
6. Each pedal will go to the Send and Return of its own Loop starting with GCX #1 Loop 1. (Loop Send to pedal Input, Pedal Output to Loop Return.

You have a couple choices on how to add the tuner. You can just put it in GCX #1 Loop 1 and be able to turn it on and off like a regular pedal, or you can feed the Tuner from GCX #1 rear panel Feedthru so the Tuner will be on at all times.

I hope that helps to get you started!
------------------====Cheers!====------------------
Image
---------==Voodoo Lab Magician & Tech==---------

Geoff101
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2019 2:57 pm

Re: PLEASE HELP SETUP 2 GCX's

Post by Geoff101 » Fri Feb 01, 2019 10:35 pm

Thats kind of how i had it invisioned.

Does the turner using feedtru require 2 cables


and only other question does pedal order matter on the GCX?

Marlboro05
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 12:46 pm
Location: Australia

Re: PLEASE HELP SETUP 2 GCX's

Post by Marlboro05 » Sat Feb 02, 2019 6:18 pm

Hi Geoff,
Are you using any in the loop? I see you have 3 EQ pedals, you might want one before and a couple in the loop to choose from? Maybe you would like the delay and choruses in the loop to?
GCPro, GCX, Pedal Power 2+, Pedal Power AC.
And some other stuff.

Marlboro05
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 12:46 pm
Location: Australia

Re: PLEASE HELP SETUP 2 GCX's

Post by Marlboro05 » Sat Feb 02, 2019 6:20 pm

The feedthru and the in are joined together as long as you don’t have anything plugged in to the front feed thru.
GCPro, GCX, Pedal Power 2+, Pedal Power AC.
And some other stuff.

Geoff101
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2019 2:57 pm

Re: PLEASE HELP SETUP 2 GCX's

Post by Geoff101 » Sun Feb 03, 2019 8:44 am

When you say loop do you mean effects loop? The 73 Hiwatt has no Effects Loop :(

I plan on putting all the pedals in the loops and switching on groups of them.

The 3 EQs are for different songs depending on which im playing.

Marlboro05
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 12:46 pm
Location: Australia

Re: PLEASE HELP SETUP 2 GCX's

Post by Marlboro05 » Sun Feb 03, 2019 4:59 pm

Hi Geoff,
Damn, would have thought it would have an effects loop. If it did the EQ’s and the mod, delay, reverb etc pedals would go in there.

Yep groups are the go with what you have. You can have all of them in seperate loops on the GCX and create presets with the groups or put groups together in loops of the GCX.

It’s up to you with the order, but I’d do the distortions/fuzz/muff first then the EQ, then the chorus, vibe then delay. The compressor can go first or last, it’s up to you though. Move them around🤷‍♂️. For more distortion hit them first, for a bit less compressor first.

Cheers Brett
GCPro, GCX, Pedal Power 2+, Pedal Power AC.
And some other stuff.

JohnClark
Posts: 7401
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: PLEASE HELP SETUP 2 GCX's

Post by JohnClark » Mon Feb 04, 2019 12:14 pm

If you feed the Tuner from the rear panel Feedthru, you will only need one cable.

Rear Panel Feedtru on GCX -> Tuner Input. Nothing connects to the Tuner Output.
------------------====Cheers!====------------------
Image
---------==Voodoo Lab Magician & Tech==---------

nyteowl
Posts: 1385
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 8:53 am

Re: PLEASE HELP SETUP 2 GCX's

Post by nyteowl » Tue Feb 05, 2019 5:26 am

JohnClark wrote:
Mon Feb 04, 2019 12:14 pm
If you feed the Tuner from the rear panel Feedthru, you will only need one cable.

Rear Panel Feedtru on GCX -> Tuner Input. Nothing connects to the Tuner Output.
Alternatively, if you were to put your tuner first in your signal chain, and connect the Loop1 Send jack to the Tuner Input without making a connection to the Loop1 Return, you'll get silent tuning by activating Loop1.
I am not affiliated with Voodoo Lab in any way, but enjoy sharing what little MIDI and signal routing knowledge I've picked up over the years. If you find my assistance helpful, please pay it forward.

Marlboro05
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 12:46 pm
Location: Australia

Re: PLEASE HELP SETUP 2 GCX's

Post by Marlboro05 » Thu Feb 07, 2019 10:43 pm

Hi Geoff,
Here is a good article on pedal placement, as it says though, there is no right or wrong. What’s right is what sounds good to you.

https://www.strymon.net/setting-up-your ... nal-chain/

Cheers
GCPro, GCX, Pedal Power 2+, Pedal Power AC.
And some other stuff.

Post Reply