Using 220-240 vac in taiwan

General discussion and tech talk about the industry standard Pedal Power line of power supplies.
Post Reply
Cipher
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2017 11:24 pm

Using 220-240 vac in taiwan

Post by Cipher » Sat Apr 08, 2017 11:31 pm

Hi all experts here,

I currently owns a voodoo lab PP2 which runs i believe
On 220-240vac *location:singapore*. As I will be having a gig in taiwan this year, will I need a power convertor for iit to work in Taiwan? I checked and the supply there is 110/120 V.

JohnClark
Posts: 7037
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Using 220-240 vac in taiwan

Post by JohnClark » Mon Apr 10, 2017 9:18 am

Yes, you will need a Step Up transformer to operate your 220-240VAC Pedal Power from a 120VAC mains.

I hope that helps!

Cipher
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2017 11:24 pm

Re: Using 220-240 vac in taiwan

Post by Cipher » Wed Apr 12, 2017 4:25 am

Hey thanks for helping.any type of step up transformer will do?(those plug thingy?)

JohnClark
Posts: 7037
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Using 220-240 vac in taiwan

Post by JohnClark » Wed Apr 12, 2017 10:03 am

A simple plug converter will not work. You need a Step Up Transformer that coverts the voltage.

A fully loaded Pedal Power 2+ will consume less than 20 Watts. Add to that the Wattage of whatever you may have connected to the Courtesy Outlet to find your minimum Wattage need for a Step Up transformer.

Cipher
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2017 11:24 pm

Re: Using 220-240 vac in taiwan

Post by Cipher » Wed Apr 12, 2017 10:26 am

Alright thanks!any brands to recommend??

JohnClark
Posts: 7037
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Using 220-240 vac in taiwan

Post by JohnClark » Mon Apr 17, 2017 11:34 am

You should be able to use just about anything you can find that provides the minimum Wattage necessary. I just don't know what sort of things you will find in Singapore. ;)

Post Reply