Tap Tempo

Q & A for building and interfacing your rack gear with Ground Control Pro and GCX-based systems.
Post Reply
Mr. T
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 8:06 am

Tap Tempo

Post by Mr. T » Tue Jan 12, 2010 2:06 am

Hey guys
I'd like to have the option of controlling the tap tempo on some of the settings of my G major from my GC Pro. Is it possible to assign an Instant Access Button for this, or to use of the pedal outputs to connect an external momentary switch button? If so any advice on how to hook this up would be great.
Thanx
Tommy

Mr. T
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 8:06 am

Re: Tap Tempo

Post by Mr. T » Mon Jan 18, 2010 4:56 pm

bump :roll:

Paul A
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 3:39 am

Re: Tap Tempo

Post by Paul A » Mon Jan 18, 2010 4:57 pm

Is that you, Tommy G from Slaves to Gravity?

Mr. T
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 8:06 am

Re: Tap Tempo

Post by Mr. T » Wed Jan 20, 2010 1:49 am

Yes Sir! Who the Devil are you!? :)
T

Paul A
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 3:39 am

Re: Tap Tempo

Post by Paul A » Wed Jan 20, 2010 2:31 am

Mr. T wrote:Yes Sir! Who the Devil are you!? :)
T
Tommy, I "know" you from HRI, I'm Paul from N Ireland.

Now I haven't tried this but I did find info about connecting a momentary switch to the expression jacks on a GCP and then assigning the pedal sewttings to a CC number for tap tempo. I'll see if I can find you some more info when I am at home later.

Cheers

JohnClark
Posts: 7462
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: The Lab

Re: Tap Tempo

Post by JohnClark » Wed Jan 20, 2010 1:23 pm

Ground Control pro Instant Access buttons can in fact be programmed to do this. Information on this is found in the MIDI Continuous Controller on/off section under Instant Access in the Ground Control Pro manual.
Also, you can use a switch connected to an expression pedal port on the Ground Control Pro, but it has to be a latching switch.
------------------====Cheers!====------------------
Image
---------==Voodoo Lab Magician & Tech==---------

BurnTheSky
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 7:05 am

Re: Tap Tempo

Post by BurnTheSky » Thu Jan 21, 2010 4:31 am

John, does it work with any latching switch ?
Anything specific to know about setting this up ?
Thanks,
Nic

Post Reply